What is the Capital Region Transportation Council?

The Transportation Council is the designated Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for a region that includes the counties of Albany, Rensselaer, Saratoga (except the Town of Moreau and the Village of South Glens Falls), and Schenectady. Led by a Policy Board comprised of elected and appointed officials at the state, regional, and local government levels, the Transportation Council assigns federal funds to transportation plans, programs, and projects in the Capital Region.

Our Core Products include:

For additional information, read our Reference Guide or contact us.

MPO planning area map showing the boundaries of Albany, Rensselaer, Saratoga, and Schenectady Counties.

What is an MPO?

Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPO) are required by federal law and are designated by the governor in urban areas with at least 50,000 residents. MPOs develop solutions to regional transportation problems and address other important issues such as land use, air quality, energy, economic development, commerce, and quality of life.

The MPO’s responsibility is to engage many stakeholders, including the general public, in the transportation planning process. By creating a vision for the region in the long-range plan and by identifying projects and investments that help achieve that vision, the MPO ensures that scarce federal transportation funds are wisely invested.


The New York State Association of Metropolitan Planning Organizations (NYSAMPO) is a coalition of the fourteen New York State MPOs committed to working together toward common goals.



The Association of Metropolitan Planning Organizations (AMPO) provides critical federal policy advocacy, technical assistance, training, and access to a collaborative network of MPOs for peer-exchange and knowledge building.

AMPO image

Learn More

Watch this video to learn more about MPOs and the federal transportation planning process.